Difference is quad size

JARHEAD2

I've never discussed this, but I am a disabled veteran. I was discharged from the Marine Corps in 1995 with a medical discharge. I got busted up a little bit & destroyed the lower part of my knee cap. I had a few surgeries & they amputated the lower part of the patella & stretched the ACL & reattached it. That in itself has been a problem that I have to overcome from time to time. I had to wear a cast from my hip to my toes for a year so that everything had time to heal sufficiently (Especially the ACL). When they took my cast off my left was significantly smaller than my right & especially my quad. This has been a battle for many years now for different reasons, but It was over an inch different in the beginning. I have now got them within a 1/4". My question is this. What type of leg workout would be the most beneficial to getting both legs the same size. If I was wearing shorts, which I never do, you can easily see the difference in diameter.  Do I maintain the right leg while working the left harder? Y'all put your minds together & help out an old disabled Devil Dog!!!

blastthru23

The first thing that comes to mind is how i deal with imbalances between the biceps. I used a load that i could do 12 reps with the smaller arm, and used that load for both arms, using dumb bells of course.

So for quad imbalances, you will need to work each leg independently. Single leg extensions, a variety of lunges, side lying single leg presses using either vertical or incline leg press.

I imagine you may have imbalances in the hams and maybe glutes. The key here is to work the legs independently, but thats not to say dont do squats! Definitely do squats.

Because the muscles in the qudriceps a very large in comparison to our arm muscles, it will tale an appreciable amount of time and work to get them to even out.

Hope this helps! Im sure others will have more poignant imput, but i think this is a good start :)

JARHEAD2