Fat, Failure, First Timer!

wbutterworth

Hi All,

Absolute pleasure to be here on this forum with all the informative posts and supportive comments. I'm brand new to the "hobby" and looking for a steer from some experienced users on my circumstances.

Currently, and unfortunately, I am fat. I am miserable in my skin and want to make some serious changes in my approach to life.

I have not always been fat. I have had many spells of good weights and seen decent progress in the past at the gym.

One of the biggest issues I have faced with progress is my predisposition toward depressive episodes. In the past I have found my newbie gains and progress to be swiftly undone with a few months of depression diets and general lethargy.

Whilst I don't want to make excuses for lack of discipline and drive, I have certainly found it tricky to maintain or reenter the world of fitness due to the perceived likelihood of undoing whatever progress I make with another depressive bout in the future. I am sure I could have done better in other aspects of my regimes, but depression has been an unwanted bitch in my life for a decade.

DISCLAIMER BEFORE I CONTINUE: My depression is linked with my weight and appearance. Poor diet and physical health leads to poor self opinion which leads to excessive isolation which leads to comfort eating in isolation which starts the vicious cycle (ha) again. I am aware that various compounds/PCT/hormone imbalances may have effects on individuals and cause depression - my thoughts on this are as follows:

1. I am cognisant of this and would closely monitor any adverse effects that a cycle/PCT could have on my mental health and react appropriately and responsibly
2. I already have depression! A little more can't hurt, surely? :ROFLMAO: (in all seriousness, I have had depression for years and understand the signs and symptoms, I take an SSRI, partake in talking therapy and regularly check in with my GP).