Frequency Training

blastthru23

I've been training with (nearly) the same frequency for a long time now, basically one muscle group per week. I have been training back twice weekly for the most part, and have divided legs into a quad day and a hamstring day. I am coming to an understanding that for hypertrophic results, any muscle group should be trained no less than twice per week at certain point in ones level of training. I know that I am not a beginner, nor advanced, but I likely fall in the spectrum of an intermediate, thus more frequency is likely needed to experience hypertrophy. Enter frequency training. Research in muscle hypertrophy is showing that big muscle groups (Chest, Back/posterior chain, Legs) can recover by 3-4 days after a training session so long as there was enough volume and intensity to create muscle damage. In order to continue a good growth pattern, one must train these groups more often.